Before you get all excited, no – I have not learned to dance.  But I am starting to learn!  For a person who is terrible with names (people, places, names to describe dance moves, etc.) this is probably going to be a HUGE challenge for me…that, and the fact that I am not athletic…at all.  I hear my dance instructor say, “This is a…” and it is suddenly like I am Charlie Brown on Peanuts listening to his teacher.  “Wah, wah, wah…”  It is not that I find it boring, I am just a really, really bad listener when it comes to names.  It is like I trained my brain to turn off when someone says, “Hi, I’m…wah, wah, wah.”  I really do want to know their name.  I do care!  My brain just needs some serious retraining.

That being said, I have found an AMAZING dance studio here is Stilly that is a perfect fit for me!  They don’t care that I’m an old lady…in the sense that I am only just beginning to learn at 28.  In fact, they just love dancing, and they love that other people love dancing too.  Whether or not they are rolling their eyes behind my back because I am currently, and hopefully not eternally, uncoordinated and awkward, the students and teachers are so incredibly helpful and encouraging.  They don’t seem to care that I am completely uneducated in the department of dance.  They genuinely seem to be happy that I want to learn, regardless of my blank slate.

Being a perfectionist, I am not entirely sure how long it will take me before I am remotely near ready to do turns, but I can hardly sleep at night, I am so excited that I finally worked up the courage to learn.  So if any of you out there are looking for a place to learn how to dance and are in the Stillwater area, here’s a shout out for Art of Dance!  Click on the image below to check them out!

header photo

